Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako

A Community of Learning | Kāhui Ako (Community of Learning) is a group of education and training providers working together to help learners achieve their full potential.

A Community of Learning can include early learning services, schools, kura, and post-secondary education providers.

Each Community of Learning sets shared goals, or achievement challenges based on the particular needs of its children and young people.  The Community of Learning works with students, their parents, whānau, iwi and communities to achieve those challenges.

By collaborating and sharing expertise, students' learning pathways are supported and their transition through the education system improved. This approach also provides more opportunities for parents, families and whānau and communities to be involved with their children and young people's learning.

State and State-integrated schools and kura within a Community of Learning are funded to allow teachers time to work together on meeting the achievement challenges, drawing on each other's skills, knowledge and experience.

Know Your Community of Learning

Data on an individual Community of Learning can be found on the Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako pages of Education Counts.  Data available are:

  • Student rolls
  • Student engagement and retention
  • School qualifications and school leaver destinations

Current Progress

As at 27 February 2018 a total of 1,761 schools, 495 early learning Services, and 11 tertiary providers have formed 214 Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako.

158 Communities of Learning have appointed a Kāhui Ako Leader and 128 have had their achievement challenges endorsed.

Additional Information

For more information about Community of Learning | Kāhui Ako please visit: Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako on the Education Govt website.